Armstrong Master of Arts in Teaching graduate Anthony Johnson (second from left) recently
received a Georgia Power New Teacher Assistant Grant. Johnson is a seventh grade
language arts teacher at Midway Middle School in Liberty County.

Two Armstrong Grads Win Georgia Power Grants

(October 14, 2013) - Two recent Armstrong graduates have been selected as recipients of Georgia Power’s New Teacher Assistance Grants, which support promising new teachers by providing funds for additional classroom materials and supplies.
Kayla Cook, a third grade teacher at Largo Tibet Elementary School in Savannah, and Anthony Johnson, a seventh grade language arts teacher at Midway Middle School in Liberty County, will each receive a $1,000 stipend to support work in their classrooms.

Each year since 2004, Georgia Power has awarded $1,000 grants to some of the state’s best and brightest new teachers through its New Teacher Assistance Grant Program. To be eligible for the grants, candidates had to be in the top 25 percent of their classes academically, be first-year teachers employed by a public school in Georgia and demonstrate a high aptitude for teaching.

Kayla Cook graduated from Armstrong with a degree in Early Childhood Education. Anthony Johnson is a graduate of the Master of Arts in Teaching Middle Grades Education program. Both teachers graduated from Armstrong in May of 2013.

“We are very proud of the Georgia Power New Teacher Assistance Grant recipients who are working hard to be excellent teachers and role models for their students, their colleagues and their schools,” said Dr. Patricia Wachholz, Dean of Armstrong’s College of Education. “Programs like the Georgia Power New Teacher Assistance Grant let teachers know that their contributions are appreciated and encourage them to remain committed to the profession.”

Latest Headlines

Armstrong Partners With Small Business Institute to Help Local Companies Succeed

Two Professors Secure Grant to Foster Interest in Technology and the Arts

University Receives $1.1 Million Grant for Student Support Services

University Signs MOU With China’s Yichun University

Jeanne McGowan Joins Armstrong as Director of the Counseling Center